Cannabis in New Hampshire

Jump to navigation Jump to search

Cannabis in New Hampshire is illegal for recreational use and is decriminalized for possession of up to three-quarters of an ounce as of July 18, 2017. It is permitted for medical use.

Medical cannabis (2013)[edit]

In July 2013, New Hampshire Governor Maggie Hassan signed into law a bill allowing the use of medical cannabis for patients with “chronic or terminal diseases” and “debilitating medical conditions.” The bill was noted as one of the stricter MMJ bills in the nation, allowing cannabis only after all other treatment methods have failed.[1] Governor Hassan also modified the measure, prohibiting patients from growing their own cannabis.[2]

Failed legalization (2014)[edit]

On January 15, 2014 New Hampshire’s legislature voted 170 to 162 in favor of ‘House Bill 492’, based on Colorado Amendment 64, which seeks to legalize under state law the personal use of up to one ounce of marijuana by persons 21 years of age or older and establish regulations for the retail production and sale of cannabis. The vote to approve the bill is the first time a chamber of a state legislature has ever approved of legislation to legalize and regulate marijuana for all adults. Tax issues pertaining to the bill are yet to be debated and a second House floor vote was expected in early 2014.[3]

Decriminalization (2017)[edit]

In 2017, New Hampshire decriminalized cannabis, replacing misdemeanor charges with a $100 fine for a first or second offense, and $300 for a third offense. Four offenses within three years would result in misdemeanor charges.[4]

References[edit]